Rim, photo by Agnes Stuber


by Hilde Fjerdingøy
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • country:Sweden
  • region:Nordic
  • style(s):Folk, Scandinavian
  • label:not signed
  • type:Band, Quartet
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, string, unplugged
  • artist submitted by:Abelli, Sunniva

Line up

  • Elin Jonsson (SE) (fiddle, viola, vocal)
  • Hilde Fjerdingøy (NO) (diatonic accordion, vocal)
  • Jo Einar Jansen (NO) (fiddles, Hardanger fiddle, vocal)
  • Sunniva Abelli (SE) (nyckelharpa, vocal)


Rim is a collaboration between four young musicians from the northern parts of Scandinavia. Well rooted in the traditions of Jämtland, Västerbotten, Nordland and Trøndelag they bring influences from folk music of all the Nordic countries to their music. Rim presents a groovy and delicate sound: dance melodies combined with improvisation and their own vivid compositions. In a lively conversation the musicians alternate between solistic inputs and close interplay. Their scenic performance is versatile with movement, voices, dancing and storytelling.

Rim is a rising star on the folk scene. Their debut album, produced by the Finnish accordeonist Maria Kalaniemi, was released on a tour in Scandinavia and the Baltic’s summer 2015. The album was nominated for Folkelarmprisen – the Norwegian Folk Music Awards 2015.

“The musicians in Rim transcend boundaries, both in the way they play together and in their arrangements. They display breadth in their musical expression, they are good composers and imaginative arrangers. I was fascinated by their transparent soundscapes and their rhythmic ease and energy, not to mention the groove! And what’s more, each musician is a soloist whose personal style shines through in the group’s sound and interaction.” Eli Storbekken (NO)

“Ex-cel-lent – playing skill, interplay, sensitivity, diversity + pretentiousless, witty, sometimes also soul scraping stories.” Ants Johanson (EE)

“Groove machines!” Olof Misgeld (SE)