Ifrikya Spirit

Line up

  • Chakib Bouzidi (Vocals, Goumbri, Gnibri, N'Goni, Percussion)
  • Hafid Abdelaziz (Drums)
  • Meziane Amiche (Lead Vocal)
  • Nazim Bokour (Guitar)
  • Rafik Kettani (Soussane, Vocals, Percussion)
  • Reda Mourah (Piano, Keyboard)
  • Samy Guebouba (Bass)
  • country:
  • region:
    North Africa
  • style(s):
    • Arabic
    • Fusion
  • label:
    not signed
  • type:
  • gender:
  • instrumentation:
    instrumental, vocal, percussion, string, piano, guitar
  • artist submitted by:

Ifrikya Spirit incorporates a vocalist and a wide range of instruments – a pair of three-stringed, skin-covered
basses plus drums and saxophone. The group expanded its musical repertoire after Algeria hosted the 2009
Pan-African Festival, and musicians from across the continent left various instruments behind. Band members started to play around with those instruments, and its sound that incorporates music from various points in Africa while staying true to its Algerian roots began to take shape.
The woman singing is only on the album not on tour.


Ifrikya Spirit


Ifrikya Spirit Ifrikya Spirit


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks

Ifrikya Spirit _ Afrika


Ifrikya Spirit _ Moussawayo


Ifrikya Spirit _ Yah la Yah


(Please install the Flash-PlugIn)
Ifrikya Spirit Live
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips

Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection