Andy Palacio & the Garifuna Collective

Line up

  • Adrian Martinez
  • Al Ovando
  • Andy Palacio
  • Aurelio Martinez
  • Carlos Perrote
  • Denmark Flores
  • Desere Arana
  • Eduardo Cedeno
  • Giovani Chi
  • Joshua Arana
  • Justo Miranda
  • Lugua Centeno
  • Marcella Torres
  • Paul Nabor
  • Rolando Sosa
  • Sam Harris
  • Wilton James
  • country:
  • region:
  • style(s):
    • Roots
    • Acoustic
  • label:
  • type:
    Band, Composer/Songwriter
  • gender:
  • instrumentation:
    instrumental, vocal
  • artist submitted by:

A stunning album featuring a multigenerational, all-star lineup of musicians from the African-Amerindian Garifuna communities of Belize, Guatemala, and Honduras. Filled with enchanting rhythms, powerful melodies and a deep soulfulness that recalls Cape Verdean or Afro-Peruvian music, Watina has been praised by media worldwide as one of the best world music albums in recent memory, Watina is the masterwork of the late Andy Palacio, whose sudden death in January 2008 shocked his homeland of Belize and the international music community.



Andy Palacio & the Garifuna Collective


WatinaGarifuna Collective Rehearsal

Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection