Festival Cantar Abril 2013


Dedicated to the memory of the victims murdered by the Salazar regime, as the painter José Dias Coelho and Catarina Eufémia.
  • 1 A Morte Saiu à Rua
  • 2 Maré Alta
  • 3 El derecho de vivir en paz
  • 4 Txoria Txori
  • 5 Canción del derrumbe índio
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips
  • country:Portugal
  • region:Aveiro
  • style(s):Acoustic, World
  • label:d'Eurídice
  • type:Band
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, singer songwriter, unplugged
  • artist submitted by:d'Orfeu AC

Line up

  • André Cardoso (Acoutic / Folk Guitar)
  • Gil Abrantes (Saxophone)
  • Manuel Maio (Violin, Bandolim)
  • Miguel Calhaz (Double Bass)
  • Rui Silva (Traditional Drum Kit)
  • Sara Vidal (lead vocal)


CONTRACORRENTE it's a concert tribute to the protest songs and musicians from all around the world, like Jose Afonso (Portugal), Victor Jara (Chile), Mercedes Sosa (Argentina) and Peggy Seeger (USA), beside other worldwide important names.
Music with political and social message in nowadays global village.
The return to the stages of Sara Vidal, the ex-lead singer of the Galician band Luar na Lubre.

From the stage to the album, "Contracorrente" launches the first CD recording on 15th December 2013, under the seal of d'Eurídice. The spectacle of d’Orfeu Associação Cultural gathers five flagship songs in its self-titled debut EP, including the theme "A morte saiu à rua", which awarded the Prize Adriano Correia de Oliveira this year in the Festival Cantar Abril 2013, assigned to the best recreation of songs of resistance. The album “Contracorrente" intends to recover the memory and claim to the present some of the songs and voices of resistance that marked the history of the twentieth century, including "A morte saiu à rua" by José Afonso, "Maré Alta" by Sérgio Godinho, "Txoria Txori” by the Basque Mikel Laboa, "Canción del Derrumbe Indio" by the Argentine Mercedes Sosa and "El derecho de vivir" by the Chilean Victor Jara. A travel around the World sung in several languages ​​and a manifest that, even today, resisting is a way of exist.


"Contracorrente" - Contracorrente