The Touré-Raichel Collective

The Touré-Raichel Collective
The Touré-Raichel Collective (Credit: Jason Marck)
The Paris Session
  • country:Israel
  • style(s):World Jazz
  • label:Cumbancha
  • type:Quartet
  • gender:male
  • instrumentation:instrumental, jazz combo
  • artist submitted by:GRIOTproduction GmbH

Line up

  • Idan Raichel (Piano & Vocal)
  • Vieux Farka Touré (Guitar & Vocal)



International Superstar Idan Raichel and Malian guitar virtuoso Vieux Farka Touré first met at an airport in Germany in 2008 while both were on tour. From this chance encounter an artistic kinship was born, culminating in an unscripted recording session that took place one afternoon in Tel Aviv in 2010. The Touré-Raichel Collective was formed and their first album, The Tel Aviv Session, was an international success that was followed by intense touring world wide. Idan Raichel and Vieux Farka Touré met again in Paris earlier this year and recorded a new album called The Paris Session which will be released this fall on Cumbancha. The real news, however, is that their new album is simply amazing ! It retains the intimate, improvisatory magic of the first album while providing more diverse sounds, more songs with vocals, and more fully-formed compositions. It is an album that is sure to delight fans of the first one, while it has the potential to become even more successful. The album features many guests, including Daby Touré on bass throughout.

The Touré-Raichel Collective are available for concerts in Europe.
Please contact: Marion von Gaudecker /