Raaga Trio


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • country:Switzerland
  • region:West Africa
  • style(s):Experimental, World Jazz
  • label:AnotherShapeRecords
  • type:Band, Composer/Songwriter, Quartet
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, percussion, string, jazz combo, lute, guitar
  • artist submitted by:Ml-Music Services

Line up

  • Andra Kouyaté (bass n'goni, n'goni, tama, vocals)
  • Andreas Fulgosi (guitar, banjo)
  • Baba Konaté (djembé, percussion)
  • Guillaume Lagger (harmonicas)


Raaga Trio plays a subtle blend of jazz and traditional West African music and was created in 2007 following a meeting of three musicians all from different backgrounds.

The word "Raaga" meaning "market" comes drom the local Moree dialect from Burkina Faso which fittingly describes the way these musicians create their music - like exchanges in a west African market Drawing on their own style and searching for new ways of creating compositions in a completely organic way, Raaga Trio soon developed a synergy in their compositions - they never talk about what they are going to play - they just play.

The music pulls you into deep currents of Manding feeling, experimental and jazzy sounds which sweep you away. The magnificent n'goni and bass n'goni of Andra Kouyate (Mali) who is pushing boundaries by deliberately trying to lose himself in music in search of new ways to play differently; the excellent rhythms of percussionist Baba Konate (Burkina Faso) with a rhythmic vocabulary taken from all his musical experiences of working with bands around the world; the harmonious, electric tones of Andreas Fulgosi's (Italy) superb guitar work come together in naturally created melodies through harmonies influenced by western classical and modern music and resulting in an original sound balance between traditional music and rock, deeply enriched by the West African music culture.

In 2009 Raaga Trio became a quartet when they were joined by a forth member following a jam session. The powerful dubs of Guillaume Lagger (Switzerland) on harmonica bind everything together through the original sounds created by electronic guitar effects, giving more power and adding an extra dimension to the music.

The Raaga Trio brings Jazz and Mandingue music together with amazing results the music is an invitation to embark on a journey through sound and a chance to experience its positivism, its humanity and its generosity.

Raaga Trio's first album "The Other Edge" has been recorded by Renaud Millet-Lacombe at Hush Sound Studio in Switzerland.
It saw its first release in 2010 and its second in June 2012.

On Tour

Raaga Trio

Raaga Trio