Innovation Award Ceremony

  • event type:Classical:NEXT 17 Innovation Award
  • date:20 May 2017
  • time:13:00 - 14:00
  • city/area:Rotterdam
  • venue:De Doelen, Willem Burger Zaal (third floor)
  • country:Netherlands
  • event submitted by:Piranha Arts

The Classical:NEXT Innovation Award was a new initiative to the 2015 edition, designed to place the spotlight on forward-thinking activities taking place around the world. The new award is complementary to already existing industry awards, The goal of this honorary prize is to raise awareness about innovative activities going on all over the world. The composition of the Nominating Committee (see below) is intended to inform classical music professionals about worthwhile experiments and approaches taking place beyond their own respective national scenes or from locations which receive much publicity.

The Innovation Award nominees for 2017, named and voted for by the Nominating Committee from the longlist, are:

Buskaid (South Africa)
Cuarteto Q-Arte (Colombia)
CutCommon (Australia)
Hannah Chan-Hartley for TSO Visual Listening Guides (Canada)
Ilan Volkov for Tectonics Festival (UK)
Molyvos International Music Festival (Greece)
Neue Meister (Germany)
PODIUM Esslingen (Germany)
Relevant Tones: In the Field (US)
Stephen Malinowski (US)