Innovation Award Ceremony

  • event type:Classical:NEXT 18 Innovation Award
  • date:19 May 2018
  • time:13:00 - 14:00
  • city/area:Rotterdam
  • venue:Willem Burger Zaal (third floor), de Doelen
  • country:Netherlands
  • event submitted by:Piranha Arts


The Classical:NEXT Innovation Award was a new initiative to the 2015 edition, designed to place the spotlight on forward-thinking activities taking place around the world. The new award is complementary to already existing industry awards, The goal of this honorary prize is to raise awareness about innovative activities going on all over the world. The composition of the Nominating Committee (see below) is intended to inform classical music professionals about worthwhile experiments and approaches taking place beyond their own respective national scenes or from locations which receive much publicity.

The Innovation Award nominees for 2018, named and voted for by the Nominating Committee from the longlist, are:

Aurora Orchestra (UK)
Carbon-free Lahti Symphony Orchestra (Finland)
Chineke! Orchestra (UK)
Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s “Accessible to all: Community supported DSO strategy” (USA)
Francisco Cila (Chile)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra’s Godchildren (Finland)
Iván Fischer (Hungary/Germany)
Parallax by Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin in cooperation with Berlin Atonal (Germany)
Project 305 by New World Symphony (USA)
Scottish Ensemble (Scotland)
Les Talens Lyriques’ t@lenschool (France)
Toru Takemitsu Composition Award (Japan)