"Su" - Mercan Dede

  • artist:
    Mercan Dede
  • featured artist:
    Susheela Raman, Dhafer Youssef, Hugh Marsh, Ceza, Sabahat Akkiraz
  • release year:
  • style(s):
    • Electronic
    • Fusion
  • country:
  • formats:
    • CD (Compact Disc)
  • record submitted by:
  • label:
    Doublemoon Records

Mercan Dede's eagerly anticipated album "Su" (meaning 'Water') invites us on a mesmerizing journey through Eastern sounds, where rhythms from Iran, India, Mediterranean and the Balkans flow together over a platform of contemporary electronic music. The album comes out as a soundtrack of Istanbul, a city surrounded by water. The instrumentation and technique of both local and international musicians exalt the dignity of the album. Mercan Dede’s long-time collaborator, the sensational violin player Hugh Marsh and other masters at their instruments including Sheema Mukherjee of Transglobal Underground on sitar, Göksel Baktagir on kanun as well as with promising future great musicians such as Aykut Sütoðlu the 15 year old clarinet sensation are featured. With her sensuous voice, Susheela Raman hypnotically points us out eternity. The young Turkish urban poet and rapper Ceza, Dhafer Youssef with a voice as powerful as an instrument are also featured on “Su” along with the renowned Turkish folk vocalist Sabahat Akkiraz


Mercan Dede


Track List

These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks


Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection