• country:Ukraine
  • region:Eastern Europe
  • style(s):East European, Global Fusion
  • label:not signed
  • type:Quartet
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:vocal, a cappella, percussion, string, piano
  • artist submitted by:Riot Artists

Line up

  • Iryna Kovalenko (vocal, djembe, bass drums, accordion, percussion)
  • Marko Halanevych (vocal, darbuka, tabla, didjeridoo, accordion, tro)
  • Nina Garenetska (vocal, cello, bass drum)
  • Olena Tsibulska (vocal, bass drums, percussion, garmoshka)


DakhaBrakha is still somewhat of a cult phenomenon in Ukraine. For the past 18 years, this award-winning, theatrical quartet of multi-instrumentalist singers has been experimenting with Ukrainian folk melodies and rhythms, mixing genuine, ethnically specific material with minimalism. DhakhaBrakha create wild and unforgettable music that is at once sacred and modern.

DakhaBrakha was created in 2004 at the Kyiv Center of Contemporary Art «DAKH» by the avant-garde theatre director — Vladyslav Troitskyi. Theatre work has left its mark on the band performances — their shows have never been staged without the scenic effects.

Having experimented with Ukrainian folk music, the band has added rhythms of the surrounding world into their music, thus creating bright, unique and unforgettable image of DakhaBrakha. It will help to open up the potential of Ukrainian melodies and to bring it to the hearts and consciousness of the younger generation in Ukraine and the rest of the world as well.

Accompanied by Indian, Arabic, African, Russian and Australian traditional instrumentation, the quartet’s astonishingly powerful and uncompromising vocal range creates a trans-national sound rooted in Ukrainian culture.

At the crossroads of Ukrainian folklore and theatre their musical spectrum is intimate then riotous, plumbing the depths of contemporary roots and rhythms, inspiring «cultural and artistic liberation».

DakhaBrakha has played concerts and performances and has taken part in numerous international festivals in Ukraine, France, Great Britain, Ireland, Austria, Slovenia, Netherlands, Belgium, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Germany, Finland, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Belarus, Georgia, Hungary, Poland, China, Australia, USA, Canada, Colombia, New Zealand, and Brazil.