Septeto Nacional de Cuba

Septeto Nacional de Cuba


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips
  • country:Cuba
  • style(s):Latin, Salsa
  • label:Self Managed
  • type:Band
  • gender:male
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal
  • artist submitted by:Riot Artists

Line up

  • Agustin Someillan (Trumpet)
  • Crispin Diaz Hernandez (Maracas)
  • Dagoberto Sacerio Oliva (Guitar, vocals)
  • Enrique Collazo (Tres)
  • Eugenio Rodriguez (Vocals)
  • Fancisco Oropesa (Bongo)
  • Raul Acea Rivera (Double bass)


With its vast musical inheritance, Cuba displays an amazing variety of genres and styles. And no other group on the island has been as universal and as consistently successful as the Septeto Nacional de Cuba. Considered by many the flagship of Cuban traditional music, the septet was founded in 1927 by Ignacio Pineiro Martinez, "The Poet of Son". During its long life, the band has included many of the biggest names of Cuban music, such as Abelardo Barroso, Miguelito Valdes, Bienvenido Granda and Carlos Embale. Septeto Nacional de Cuba's 3rd and 4th generation members take the torch further, maintaining the elegant and acoustic rumba sound while also incorporating contemporary harmonization, as well as broadening the rhythmic concept, and performing a range of Cuban hits. Their fall 2010 album "Sin Rumba No Hay Son" was released worldwide through World Village Records.