Meïkhâneh Sextet

Meïkhâneh Sextet
Meïkhâneh Sextet, by Milad Pasta 2017


Excerpt from the album "La Silencieuse" (Buda Musique)
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks


Teasert new album 2017
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips
  • country:France
  • style(s):Fusion, World
  • label:Buda Musique
  • type:Band, Small Ensemble
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, a cappella, percussion, string, unplugged, lute, guitar
  • artist submitted by:Routes Nomades

Line up

  • Bijan Chemirani (saz, tzoura, additionnal percussions)
  • Johanni Curtet (khöömii, throatsinging, guitar, dombra)
  • Maria Laurent (voice, tovshuur lute, morin khuur fiddle)
  • Martin Coudroy (diatonic accordion)
  • Milad Pasta (percussions (zarb, udu drum, daf))
  • Uuganbaatar Tsend-Ochir (ikh khuur fiddle/double-bass)


Meïkhâneh’s compositions are fed by imagination, improvisation and traditional music from Europe, Mongolia and Iran. The luminous and captivating voices carry the power of East European singings, the aerial melodies of the great spaces, as well as the depth of the khöömii, Mongolian overtone singing. One can hear traveling cords recalling the steppes of Asia and Andalusia. The chiseled rhythms of percussion draw on the Persian tradition. Meïkhâneh takes us to the heart of a music without borders that caresses
the soul. Its name borrowed from Persian poetry means the «House of Intoxication». We let ourselves be carried…

With the 3 guests of their new album, Uuganbaatar Tsend-Ochir, Bijan Chemirani and Martin Coudroy, Meïkhâneh's music will travel in Iran, Mongolia and Europe.

Meïkhâneh is looking for a producer and residencies to create the sextet concert of the new album "La Silencieuse".


“Hard to imagine it won't be one of my handful of favourites of the year.” - Ian Anderson

“a rich musical journey with a soul of its own.” – Tim Cumming

TRANSGLOBAL WORLD MUSIC CHART 12th position in septembre

“Intoxicating imaginary folklore” – Charlie Crooijmans

“An excellent disc that lets you speechless” – Jan Willem

“A high voice often with an angelic appearence […] which is also capable of more baroque intensity, that wanders in a mind-blowing way somewhere between the Steppes of Mongolia […] and the sides of Euphrates.” – Anne Berthod

KAOS Radio – Top 10 World Music Albums

Broadcast of “Uulyn Nulims” and “Pluies” in New Sounds

Broadcast of « Silencia »

France 3 Bretagne