Moussu T e lei Jovents

Moussu T e lei Jovents
Mademoiselle Marseille - 2005
Forever Polida - 2006
Inventé à la Ciotat - DVD 2007
Home Sweet Home - 2008
Live Fiesta des Suds
(c) J. Dromigny
Putan de Cançon 2010


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • country:France
  • region:Occitania
  • style(s):Blues, Chansons
  • label: Manivette Records
  • type:Band
  • gender:male
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal
  • artist submitted by:Asso Salabrum

Line up

  • Blu (Guitarist/ banjo player/ chorus)
  • Denis (Drummer)
  • Stef (Percussionnist)
  • Tatou (Singer)


Moussu T e lei Jovents consist of the founder of Massilia Sound System (Tatou) together with its guitarist (Blu) and a famous Brazilian percussionist (Jam). The group takes its inspiration from Marseille in the thirties, a veritable musical melting pot, where Provencal songs could be heard alongside local operettas by Vincent Scotto or the black music bursting onto the scene at the time (i.e. blues and jazz, with music from the West Indies and Brazil too). This provides the background for the group's new, up-to-the minute songs, sea and harbours shanties that reek of the briny air, shipyard cranes and rocky inlets. A new repertoire to match the coastline of this part of the world, from Marseille or La Ciotat, a true blend of old and new, local and universal, full of nostalgia and foot-tapping rhythms

This new album, "Home sweet home", follows in the wake of the previous ones (Mademoiselle Marseille and Forever Polida), but offers new and deeper perspectives. It remains centred round the same musical worlds, still exploring the affinities (or the opposite, putting them face to face), of Black American music from the early 20th century, Marseille light opera and Brazilian rhythms.

Ever since their first album, this musical universe contains songs that reflect the reality of Moussu T e lei Jovents' daily life. A repertoire that's been invented and reinvented, making fun of a current world where tradition and research are but the tools and guides of the desire to have a function in the here and now. A repertoire on the struggle for an open-ended, multi-faceted planet where each inhabitant can help shape a world of real dialogue by expressing his personal universe. A repertoire where the nearby counts as well as the global in this case, it's Occitan and French, ranging from timeless songs inspired by tradition, to the most personal works born of an intimacy so shared, it's part of the group's universe. A repertoire whose local nature is ultimately the best platform to universality.

All this has led Moussu T e lei Jovents to devote themselves to a favourite blues theme this time round home sweet home. Home sweet home : love songs for the home, songs of exiles nostalgic for their homeland, songs of revolt against the alienation and destruction of the familiar world. All these aspects are featured on this new album by Moussu T e lei Jovents. Their home sweet home is multi-coloured and multi-cultural, just like their city, Marseille, and La Ciotat. Their home sweet home is the smell of fish on the port, the washing hanging out of the window, drinking a pastis with friends and children's laughter in the street, just as it's also the Provencal language, popular songs, the flavours of its cuisine. It's their own home too, with the little one lying on the sofa, and the moments of rest when the harshness of daily life is softened by the beauty of the coastline. Once again Moussu T e lei Jovents want to show that this interest in everything close at hand is the one condition that will open them up in the truest sense of the word to others. For it's in the home sweet home that one's personal vision of the world is forged, a vital part of the rich conversation of the globe.
2005, LP : "Mademoiselle Marseille" Manivette Records / Le Chant du Monde / Harmonia Mundi
2006, LP : "Forever Polida" Manivette Records / Le Chant du Monde / Harmonia Mundi
2007, DVD DualDisc : "Invente a La Ciotat" Manivette Records / Le Chant du Monde / Harmonia Mundi
New release : 2008, LP : "Home sweet home" Manivette Records / Le Chant du Monde / Harmonia Mundi

On Tour

Moussu T e lei Jovents