Zohreh Jooya & Ensemble Afghan

Zohreh Jooya & Ensemble Afghan
Franz Helmreich

Line up

  • Daud Khan Sadozai (Robab)
  • Larry Porter (Piano)
  • Rashmi V Bhatt (Tabla)
  • Scott White (Bass)
  • Zohreh Jooya (Vocals)

Zohreh Jooya's new project "Crossroads" brings together musical traditions which at first glance seem vastly different in a startling organic way. New York and Kabul are 10 000 miles apart but become neighbors in the fascinating world of this ensemble. The goal in this fusion is to combine jazz with traditional Afghan and Central Asian music in such a way as to create a new identifiable sound all its own