Mariana Sadovska

Mariana Sadovska
Mariana Sadovska
Mariana Sadovska
Mariana Sadovska
Mariana Sadovska


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Ukraine
  • style(s):East European, Vocal
  • label:not signed
  • type:Band, Solo, Composer/Songwriter, Small Ensemble, Duo
  • gender:female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal
  • artist posted by:alba KULTUR


Mariana Sadovska bringing Ukrainian tradition into new musical territory. In her furious programmes the singer, actress and composer crosses all borders: archaic midsummer night invocations, wedding songs and emigrant chants from remote villages in rural Ukraine get a singular turn and transmute into contemporary sound, from folk until avantgarde. Creating her own innovative compositions and arrangements in dialogue with ancient traditions, Mariana Sadovska approaches each piece with a fresh and uniquely personal vision.


1. Ukrainian Callings
Ukrainian Callings is a powerfull fusion of singing and storytelling about ancient and rural Ukraine. By organizing ethno-musical expeditions, she has collected a large body of traditional songs, stories and rituals which she transforms into her own specific sound for today's generation.
"I do not sing songs I found in books. Each song I sing was given to me by a specific woman. I heard the story of the song, learned the way it should be sung, and understood that a song can be the map which leads you to your life."

2. Odessa Underground
Mariana Sadovska performs an exceptional cabaret-concert of "city-folklore", a night journey through underground bar-sounds of the pre-World War II Odessa, Berlin and Paris. Drawing upon songs from the repertoires of colorful singer-poets such as Arkady Severny, Dina Verni, and Alexander Vertinsky, Odessa Underground offers a striking reflection on a tumultuous period in history that bears a haunting resemblance to to our times.

3. Chernobyl - a Pegan Requiem composed by Mariana Sadovska for Kronos Quartet (USA)
Chernobyl' is a composition for one voice and string quartet, based on ancient-ceremonial music of norhtern Ukraine and contemporary sound scales. In this "pegan requiem" Mariana is using the nuclear catastrophy of Chernobyl' as a starting point to experiment with distruction and creation of musical structures and stories. The world premiere is planed for 2013 with the San Francisco based Kronos Quartet.

4. Vesna - Spring
This is the duo project of Mariana Sadovska with the Cologne based percussionist Christian Thomé. It was formed in June 2012, with the idea of combining ancient Ukrainian folk songs and contemporary electro-acoustic sounds, interweaving different cultures through poetry and melody, an acoustic east-western road movie, which tells of love and death, of despair and hope -always in search of freedom and identity. The two musicians embark on a personal journey of discovery. In their luggage they have twoof the oldest instruments of mankind: Mariana Sadovska with voice and Christian Thomé with drums. In search of the essence of their mutual border crossingsthey expand their respective musical vocabularies to give a new expression of their cultural East-West encounter: almost-forgotten shamanic and today's urban variants of their instruments are packed into the rear seat back of their travel vehicle: jew's harps, indian harmonium, zither, laptop and other electronic devices. They create a futuristic sound manifest as an expression of a universal desire for “Heimat” and future. Sadovska and Thomé began performing together in September 2012 at a literary evening with prominent Ukrainian and German writers, Yurii Andrukhovych and Navid Kermani.

5. Pulkkinen - Räss - Sadovska
Three women, three voices and three countries blend into one. Nadja Räss, Mariana Sadovska and Outi Pulkkinen searched for and ultimately found each other in Toggenburg, Switzerland, within the scope of the Klangfestival Naturstimmen (Natural Voices Sound Festival). Their musical understanding overcomes the boundaries of language. Their interpretation of the commissioned work that was penned by Swiss composer Markus Flückiger for the 2016 Klangfestival Naturstimmen is unique. The concert is complemented by pieces from the artists' respective personal repertories that they have newly arranged with each other, but also by traditional songs from their home countries, which they perform in their original languages.These traditions –yodel, runo singing and white voice –form the musical basis around which the composer has created melodies for the three musicians. This allows the music to become a language that takes listeners on a journey through the various cultures. The three solo voices are from different geographic regions of Europe and represent the traditional musical background from which they come. The new composition brings the three vocal traditions closer together and ultimately blends them into a unity. The result is astonishing tonal colours, and this innovative contemporary music starts sounding familiar.The composition consists of individual pieces that each tell its own storyand convey a variety of moods. The composer intentionally did not provide a text, so the three musicians came up with the words and syllables that developed over the course of the rehearsals. Through improvisation and practice, the pieces ultimately became what they now are and how they are performed.