Maria Kalaniemi

Maria Kalaniemi
Maria Kalaniemi & Timo Alakotila
Maria Kalaniemi & Eero Grundström
Maria Kalaniemi
(c) Elina Brotherus


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


Video by Elina Brotherus
  • Svalan
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • country:Finland
  • region:Scandinavia
  • style(s):Contemporary
  • label:self managed
  • type:Band, Solo, Small Ensemble, Duo, Trio
  • gender:female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, piano
  • artist posted by:Art Prevolution

Line up

  • Maria Kalaniemi (Accordion)
  • Maria Kalaniemi & Timo Alakotila (Maria Kalaniemi, accordion)
  • Timo Alakotila (Grand piano)


Maria Kalaniemi, a master of free-bass button accordion, is one of Finland's leading contemporary accordionists. Once a member of pioneering groups Niekku and Aldargaz, from the Sibelius Academy Folk Music Department, where she now teaches, her roots are in folk and classical music but her sights and abilities go far beyond existing styles. Technically brilliant as a player, and adept at improvisation, she is also a very powerful, intuitive and sensitive composer, with pieces that stylistically touch in numerous areas but feature her own personality as the driving force. Melody is the meaning and with Maria, listeners are sure to feel her message deeply.

Maria Kalaniemi, accordion
Timo Alakotila, piano

Maria Kalaniemi and Timo Alakotila are acknowledged as pioneers in Finnish new folkmusic and they have played in numerous concerts around the world. They have achieved many awards and both of them are named art professors by the Art Council of Finland.

Maria and Timo has played together 20 years. They celebrated the anniversary by publishing a new CD Åkerö, which won also the Etno-Emma 2012 prize. This concert contains significant tunes for both artists - Finnish and Finnish Swedish songs and tango as well as schlagers. Their own compositions are heard as well.

Maria Kalaniemi & Eero Grundström
New album, Svalan released 4.4.2017

The record contains Finnish-Swedish ballads, songs about the sea, passionate tangoes, frenzied minuets from Jepua, the artist’s own compositions and lyrical moods of contemplation. Kalaniemi has drawn her musical inspiration from the rich nature of Salonkylä, including some close encounters with wild animals.

The album is a sequel to Maria Kalaniemi’s acclaimed Vilda Rosor album (Wild Roses, Aito Records, 2010), a collection of tracks in the Finnish-Swedish musical tradition. The new compositions and lyrics are the handiwork of Maria Kalaniemi. The music was adapted for each track by Kalaniemi and the record’s music team: Eero Grundström, Pekko Käppi (bowed lyre and vocals) and Mikko Kosonen (guitars). Artistic production is by Maria Kalaniemi and Eero Grundström.


"Svalan" - Maria Kalaniemi