"Mielo" - Maria Kalaniemi & Eero Grundström

Maria Kalaniemi & Eero Grundström
Mielo cover
Maria Kalaniemi
Maria Kalaniemi, Eero Grundström


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


(c) Tiina Louneva
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • artist:Maria Kalaniemi & Eero Grundström
  • release year:2020
  • style(s):Scandinavian, Contemporary
  • country:Finland
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc)
  • record posted by:Art Prevolution
  • label:Åkerö Records
  • publisher:Åkerö Records

Mielo (Mind) is a walk through the woods, across the water, under the dancing sky, as the honking of geese fades away into the distance. Along each path, around every turn lie strong feelings and stories which can be imagined differently by each listener. Mielo is a musical tale about growing inner wings. Two musicians travel together on the many roads of their collective imagination where the most delicate feelings transform into the thunder of the boldest soundscapes.

It is from these elements that Mielo, the new album by accordionist Maria Kalaniemi and harmonium wizard Eero Grundström, is born. Mielo is released on 24 April, 2020. On the album, Kalaniemi returns to the meditative soundscapes which we first heard on her Runonsoitto-Bellow Poetry album of 2005. Alongside these now emerges rhythmical and pulsating music inspired by wafting sounds that ring across the wilderness from the tops of the fells.

Kalaniemi, who is known for her lyrical and emotive playing style, once described as “accordion fados”, creates on Mielo powerful soundscapes together with harmonium artist Eero Grundström. Maria plunges into emotionally charged performances of accordion and voice. Together with the passionate rhythm of Eero’s harmonium, they take the listener on a musical journey infused with deep feeling.

Record releasing on the 15th of May in GAS and distribution also in Italy, Spain, Portugal, in the UK and in the USA is by Galileo Music Communication GmbH and in the Benelux countries by Xango Music. Released and distributed in Finland by Åkerö Records.