Vilma Timonen Quartet

Vilma Timonen Quartet


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • country:Finland
  • style(s):World
  • label:Bafe's Factory
  • type:Quartet
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, percussion, singer songwriter, jazz combo
  • artist posted by:Bafe's Factory

Line up

  • Jaakko Kämäräinen  (bass, vocals)
  • Topi Korhonen  (guitar, trumpet, mandolin)
  • Tuomas Timonen (percussion, vocals)
  • Vilma Timonen  (kantele, vocals)


The Vilma Timonen Quartet, or VtQ as this fusion band is otherwise known, has pulled off a remarkable combination; unique sound that you have never heard before. Contemporary folk music combining musical elements from all over the world, blended together with the ancient sound of the Kantele.

The band’s repertoire is a synthesis of compositions by Vilma Timonen and a collection of traditional melodies adapted by the Quartet. The result is an epoch-making musical arrangement that accentuates strong vocals and rich and multifaceted sound of Kantele.

Imagine on the one hand small cottage in the Finnish countryside filled with the bright sound of kantele, and on the other hand the dim confines of urban music clubs. VtQ leaps into the ancient world of music to paint an arch between those two worlds.


DROPS album was published 2015 by Bafe’s Factory (

Drops has been awarded as the best Kantele album of the year 2015 in Finland by Chief Conductor of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra Hannu Lintu.

Drops has also been nominated as the best World Music Album 2015 by World Music Center in USA.

FORWARD was published by Äania –records ( 2009. FORWARD was elected as the best 2009 Ethno album in Finland and awarded with the Emma –price (The Finnish Grammy award).

The composititions by Vilma Timonen and the arrangements of the quartet was nominated as a candidate for prestige Teosto –prize 2011.

The band’s debut album VtQ was published by Texicalli Records ( in 2007.