Old Salt
Old Salt Quartet - (c) Jonathan Wannyn
Old Salt Quartet live on stage - (c) Peter Frings
Old Salt Quartet live on stage 2 - (c) studio trad


Track from the new EP
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


Live at Stadsschouwburg Brugge
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • country:Belgium
  • region:Central Europe
  • style(s):Appalachian Old Time, Americana
  • label:Trad Records
  • type:Band, Quartet
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, string, singer songwriter, unplugged, guitar
  • artist posted by:Bipolar Bows

Line up

  • Dan Wall (lead voice, clawhammer banjo, violin)
  • Johannes Wannyn (voice, guitar)
  • Lotte Remmen (voice, violin)
  • Toby Kuhn (cello)
  • Tomás Peralta (voice, double bass)


Old Salt is an Americana band based out of Ghent, Belgium, pulling sounds from New Orleans, up to through Appalachia and into Old Europe, delivering a performance with grit, groove and virtuosity.

The international members have individually influenced Old Salt with their heritage sounds from the USA, Belgium, Sweden, France and Scotland. Ever since their debut in 2015, they’ve run a remarkable course with shows in Belgium at Dranouter Festival and at the Gentse Feesten, in Sweden at Urkult and Umefolk Festival, in the USA in the Guthrie Center (Great Barrington MA), and at 'Lucerne Festival in the Streets' (Luzern, Switzerland), just to name a few. Old Salt received the “European World of Bluegrass” award for 2017. Since 2018, the band is touring in the UK, Ireland, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Slovenia, Sweden.

Old Salt’s first album “Upriver Overseas” was recorded in Sweden in 2016. In June 2019 the band released their second album where they worked closely together with producer and sound engineer Leander Meuris (Young Partners in Art) in GAM Studio (The Ardennes Belgium). The album is mixed in Nashville, USA by Sean Sullivan (The Devil Makes Three, Del McCoury Band, …) and combines original songs by Dan Wall and Johannes Wannyn as well as traditional tunes arranged by the band.

!NEW RELEASE! The band will release a new online EP in february 2022 as a kickoff for their European tour. This EP features timeless old songs whipped up in a new energetic light. Old Salt feels it represents much of what so many of us have been dealing with through this last year. Experiences like monotony, loneliness, hope and loss all the while confronting these themes as Old Salt does with a smile and a growl.
The recordings came to be alongside a series of Live Stream Sessions where Old Salt invited local legends of Ghent, Belgium to sit around some expensive microphones and swap songs. After their previous album ‘Commons’ released 2019, the band wanted this EP to represent more their live performance energy.

The band currently performs as a quartet featuring:
Dan Wall (lead vocals, banjo, violin)
Johannes Wannyn (voice, guitar)
Lotte Remmen (voice, violin)
Toby Kuhn (cello) or Tomás Peralta (voice, double bass)