Maja Osojnik


CD Crne Vode
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Slovenia
  • style(s):Jazz, Ethno
  • label:Viennese Soulfood Records
  • type:Band, Composer/Songwriter
  • gender:female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal
  • artist posted by:CultureWorks

Line up

  • Bernd Satzinger (double bass)
  • Clemens Wenger (accordion)
  • Maj Osojnik (vocals)
  • Matthias Koch (drums)
  • Michael Bruckner-Weinhuber (guitar)
  • Philipp Jagschitz (piano)


Maja Osojnik is an eccentric with a priceless sense of humour, who undoubtedly comes from a different planet than the one of traditional folk song preservation. With her shrill appearance but deep alto voice she interprets Slovene folk songs - sometimes with respectful tenderness, sometimes by means of total re-composition and re-coding. She is an allrounder who does not fit into any box, creating and living a dazzling kaleidoscope of styles from folk to baroque to jazz to punk-rock, electronics and avant-garde.

Her first cd "Oblaki so redeci - The Clouds are Red" (Jazzwerkstattrecords 2006) was an instant success with press and audience. With her second album (and beautiful book) "Crne Vode - Black Waters" (Viennese Soulfood Records 2010) just published and nominated for the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik she and her band are now definitely ready for major touring.