Renato Borghetti

Renato Borghetti


CD Andanças
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Brazil
  • region:Southern Brazil
  • style(s):Gaucho, Jazz
  • label:Music & Words
  • type:Band, Composer/Songwriter
  • gender:male
  • instrumentation:instrumental
  • artist posted by:CultureWorks

Line up

  • Daniel Sá (guitar)
  • Pedro Figueiredo (sax, flute)
  • Renato Borghetti (accordion)
  • Vitor Peixoto (piano)


Accordion virtuoso Renato Borghetti is the star among the new folk musicians from Rio Grande do Sul in Southern Brazil. The charismatic gaucho has revised, adapted and modernized many of the native sounds of his home country. His fast and playful tunes combine the sounds of the Argentinian pampa with central European, Italian and French elements into a sparkling, contemporary mixture of Tango, Polka, TexMex and Musette. He does not shy away from more typical forms of the wide spectrum of Brazilian and global pop, jazz, tango and beyond, adapting each of those forms to his unique style of accordion playing. Borghettinho, as his fans like to call him, has been recording cds for more than 20 years. He has shared the stage with Stephane Grapelli, Ron Carter and Hermeto Pascoal and is the first Brazilian musician to achieve a golden record with purely instrumental music. His first European CD Gauchos was released in 2005 by the Vienna based label Quinton Records and nominated for the "Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik".

The recording of FANDANGO (CD and DVD) happenend at Renato's ranch near Porto Alegre which for the purpose was transformed into a professional studio. FANDANGO was awarded the Premio Acorianos in Porto Alegre as best CD&DVD of the year and it was also nominated for a Grammy Latino. The CD was officially released in Europe with Felmay Records in March 2009.

In 2011 Renato released his first and long-expected live album: Andancas is the live recording of a concert at the Brussels club Muziekpublique in May 2009 and was published by the Dutch label Saphrane Records/Music&Words in January 2011. This album represents something like the resume of 10 years touring in Europe a time of investigating the musicians' own roots, discovering new ways of musical expression and making a lot of new friends.

2011 is also a year which brought Renato and his quartet to the film screen: The 2010 European summer tour was filmed for the road movie series Borghetti na Estrada (start on Brazilian television on January 8th) and will be released as DVD at a later moment. Two tracks of the CD Gauchos were selected for the soundtrack of the documentary A Mao e a Luva by Italian director Roberto Orazi (Lupin Film, Rome).

And Renato Borghetti is actively securing the future of his instrument at home in Southern Brazil: at the end of 2010 the first diatonic accordion branded "Borghetti" left the recently founded Fabrica de Gaiteros a project initiated not only to produce instruments but also to organize accordion courses for underprivileged children and young people.

Who has not seen on stage this accordionist and wonderful communicator with the attitude of a flamenco dancer, does not know what are joy and improvisation
Musicmap, I, July 2007

Recent CDs:
2010 Andancas, Saphrane/Music&Words
2009 Fandango, Felmay
2008 Fandango, CD&DVD, unsigned
2005 Gauchos, Quinton Records