"J.S. BACH Cello Suites on the Cretan Lyra" - Yiorgos Kaloudis

Yiorgos Kaloudis
Album cover


The first track of the record
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


Premier Concert at Megaron Athens - March 2017
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • artist:Yiorgos Kaloudis
  • region:Athens
  • release year:2017
  • style(s):Baroque, Classical Music
  • country:Greece
  • formats:Audio File / Digital, CD (Compact Disc)
  • record posted by:DNA Label
  • label:DNA Label
  • publisher:DNA Label


“I have lived a long, 12-year journey exploring the freedom, the inspiration, the spontaneous improvisation, the truth and joy while studying and practising all the Cello Suites.

I trusted a strong instinct leading me in the right direction, drawn by the music and the beauty of the instrument.

The sound, the vibrations, the depth of the rich harmonics, the melodic lines, the chords and the timbres of the sound of the senses Cretan lyra revealed a divine beauty, exposed through J.S. Bach's work, bringing an ancient quality of sound and a precious silence of the Aegean Sea to my senses."


Yiorgos Kaloudis

(World Premiere Recording)


Cello Suite No.1 in G Major, BWV 1007

1. I. Prelude 3:10
2. II. Allemande 5:12
3. III. Courante 3:38
4. IV. Sarabande 3:39
5. V. Menuet I 1:35
6. VI. Menuet II 1:41
7. VII. Gigue 2:07

Cello Suite No.2 in D minor, BWV 1008

8. I. Prelude 4:33
9. II. Allemande (improvisation) 4:34
10. III. Courante
11. IV. Sarabande 5:09
12. V. Menuet I (improvisation) 3:15
13. VI. Menuet II 1:17
14. VII. Gigue 4:04

Cello Suite No.3 in C Major, BWV 1009

15. I.Prelude 5:53
16. II. Allemande 5:32
17. III. Courante 4:01
18. IV. Sarabande 4:22
19. V. Bourree I 1:53
20. VI. Bourree II 1:52
21. VII. Gigue 3:58


Cello Suite No.4 in E flat Major, BWV 1010

1. I. Prelude 7:13
2. II. Allemande 5:43
3. III. Courante 4:39
4. IV. Sarabande 4:34
5. V. Bourree I 3:36
6. VI. Bourree II 0:53
7. VII. Gigue 4:06

Cello Suite No.5 in C minor, BWV 1011

8. I. Prelude 8:50
9. II. Allemande (improvisation) 8:29
10. III. Courante (improvisation) 6:25
11. IV. Sarabande 3:49
12. V. Gavotte I 2:59
13. VI. Gavotte II 2:03
14. VII. Gigue 2:34

Yiorgos Kaloudis: 4-string Cretan Lyra with sympathetic strings

Photography by Lambros Papanikolatos
Designed by Iliana Alexandrou
Created by Vassilis Efthymiou at PressiousArvanitidis.
Double CD release by the DNA Label,
Michalis Nivolianitis and Alexandros Christaras.
Recorded by Yiannis Skandamis at the DNA Label, Athens.
Mastered by Vangelis Lappas at the Sierra Studios, Athens.
Special thanks to iSquare for their kind support!