"Naked nigun" - Urban Tunells Klezmerband

Urban Tunells Klezmerband
  • artist:Urban Tunells Klezmerband
  • featured artist:Jovan Pavlovic, Morten Michelsen, Sondre Meinsfjord, Tor-Petter Aanes
  • release year:2005
  • style(s):Balkan, Klezmer
  • country:Norway
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc)
  • record posted by:Etnisk Musikklubb
  • label:Etnisk Musikklubb
  • publisher:Etnisk Musikklubb


The story about the band:

Morten and Tor-Petter were based in Trondheim during spring 2000. They spent more than one evening in their favourite pub Baklandet Skydsstation, dreaming about the future. Morten had been studying in Paris, and felt the urge to start playing the kind of music he had heard in Paris, the klezmer music. He had got hold of ”The Jewish Fake Book”, and Tor-Petter was joining him willingly. Shortly, they started playing with a third person, the bass player Ole Morten. During that time, Tor-Petter one night awoke from a dream in which he had been giving birth to a baby boy. Strangely, everyone seemed to know that the boy was to be named Urban Tunéll. The trio was then called
urban tunnels klezmerensemble, after Tor-Petter’s ‘dreamborn’ son.
Their hangout at that time, Baklandet Skydsstation, was the obvious choice to have their live debut, and subsequently the band played there regularly on the popular Sunday gigs. One night they were playing, the Jewish Community in Trondheim had sent a large delegation to the gig. Due to the intimate, cramped space the pub offered, it was already packed in the space at the time the Jews arrived. Frustratingly disappointed, yet constant, the Jews were determined to experience this klezmer bloom.. They simply arranged a klezmer party in the Synagogue, and hired urban tunélls klezmerband to play. The success was the beginning of a long-term relationship, which is still going strong..

In 2004, the band’s line up became:

Tor-Petter Aanes piano, lead vocal
Morten Michelsen clarinets, backing vocals
Jovan Pavlovic accordion, backing vocals
Sondre Meisfjord double bass, backing vocals