"Letter from Istanbul" - Derya Turkan and Sokratis Sinopoulos

Derya Turkan and Sokratis Sinopoulos
In Concert
Derya Turkan
Sokratis Sinopoulos
Boston Concert
Album Cover


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • artist:Derya Turkan and Sokratis Sinopoulos
  • featured artist:Ugur Isik, Taner Sayacioglu, Serdar Bisiren, Oktay Ozerdem
  • release year:2001
  • style(s):Folk, Traditional
  • country:Turkey
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc)
  • record posted by:Golden Horn Records
  • label:Golden Horn Records
  • publisher:Seher Music Publishing (ASCAP)
  •   buy this record


Letter from Istanbul celebrates the traditional music of Western Anatolia & Aegean Islands. This project grew out of the longtime musical friendship of Derya Türkan and Sokratis Sinopoulos. Letter from Istanbul is a sophisticated melding of traditional Turkish and Greek folk forms such as zeybeks and sirtos. The ensemble includes: Derya Türkan on kemenche, Sokratis Sinopoulos on kemenche (Turkish fiddle) and lavta (short-necked lute), Ugur Isik on violoncello, Hakan Güngör on kanun (plucked zither), Perikles Papapetropoulos, also on lavta, and the Yarkin brothers, Fahreddin and Ferruh, on percussions. Master Derya Türkan is dedicated to continuing the style of his teacher Ihsan Özgen and of Tanburi Cemil Bey. Sokratis Sinopoulos has played in Ross Daly’s Labyrinth Ensemble, with Greek demotika and rebetika groups, as well as Byzantine music and western jazz ensembles.

Away from politics between nations, joined in the universality of music, this is an invitation that aims to join people. This reflects a cultural brotherhood, a melting pot, relationship among peoples with love despite the kind of boundaries that are drawn.