"Tango Diary" - Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola

Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola
Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola: Tango Diary. front cover


music by Johanna Juhola
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • artist:Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola
  • release year:2013
  • style(s):Scandinavian, Tango Nuevo
  • country:Finland
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc),
  • record submitted by:Juhola, Johanna
  • label:Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola
  •   buy this record


Milla Viljamaa (piano) and Johanna Juhola (accordion) are experienced authorities in the art of tango. Their work as a duo has astounded audiences with their jaw-dropping virtuosity, sensitivity and laid-back approach. Over the last ten years, the duo has produced two albums and travelled the globe on multiple tours.

This series of tango compositions from Johanna and Milla call to mind cinematic images and were inspired by the diary entries of the multifaceted artist Elina Lajunen from her tango adventures in Buenos Aires and Berlin.

The song’s stories tell of such things as a love affair lasting the length of a single tango, an ode to Buenos Aires - the city of favourable winds, the childhood evolution of a milonguera dancer and the rental of taxi drivers as tango partners. The disc’s cover booklet contains selections from Elina’s tango travel diary, and an example of her vivid collage artwork is featured on the cover for easy display.
The album was recorded, mixed and co-produced (along with the duo) by Johannes Laiho, keyboard player and programmer for the group Don Johnson Big Band. Sound guru Johannes helped the musicians cut loose from the concert hall mood to experiment with a new fairy-tale world of sound.