Cristina Branco

Cristina Branco
© Joana Linda
© Joana Linda
© Joana Linda


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • country:Portugal
  • region:Lisboa
  • style(s):Fado, Jazz
  • label:Locomotiva Azul
  • gender:female
  • artist posted by:Locomotiva Azul

Line up

  • Bernardo Couto (Portuguese Guitar)
  • Bernardo Moreira (Double Bass)
  • Cristina Branco (Voice)
  • Luís Figueiredo (Piano)


With a total of seventeen albums released and countless concerts all over the world, Cristina Branco is one of the most important and versatile Portuguese artists of recent decades. Traditional Portuguese music and Fado are her main aesthetic root, but the influence of Jazz, literature, and the musicians with whom she shares the stage, give her music a universal character and sublime charm.

She began her career in Holland with the album ‘Cristina Branco in Holland’ (1997), which became an enormous success in that country. In the following years, Cristina’s name exploded throughout Europe, with sold-out dates in countless venues and cities. Her following works, ‘Murmúrios’ (1998) and ‘Post-Scriptum’ (2000) reinforced the success of her first album, and Cristina was awarded two Prix Choc, the prestigious prizes given by the French magazine Le Monde de La Musique.

Despite her accomplishments abroad, it was only at the turn of the millennium, with ‘Corpo Iluminado’ (2001), ‘O Descobridor’ (2002), a double-platinum album, ‘Sensus’ (2003), and ‘Ulisses’ (2005), that Cristina Branco finally began to be discovered and acclaimed by the Portuguese public and press. A US tour, another in Japan, and a concert at the prestigious Melbourne Music and Arts Festival are some of the other highlights of this period

This was followed by ‘Abril’ (2007), an album with cover versions of songs by José Afonso, ‘Kronos’ (2009) and ‘Fado Tango’ (2011), her tenth studio album, which features collaborations with renowned authors and composers such as Mário Laginha, Carlos Tê, and Pedro da Silva Martins. The album foreshadows Cristina’s artistic rebirth, which would arrive a few years later with ‘Menina’.

Considered Best Record of the Year by Sociedade Portuguesa de Autores (SPA), ‘Menina’ (2016), is the first chapter of a trilogy that includes the jovial and kaleidoscopic ‘Branco’ (2018) and ‘Eva’ (2020). In these works, Cristina brings together unusual collaborations, which cross styles, genres, cultures, and geographies. The result is an innovative and spontaneous interpretation of the traditional musical expression of Fado.

‘Eva’, released in 2020, reveals Cristina Branco’s depth in ten intimate songs. We find one of the singer’s most personal work in the stories of Eva Haussman, the protagonist of the record. The album has been presented all over the world, accumulating sold-out shows in countries like Portugal, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium, Holland and France.

In 2022 Cristina Branco released ‘Amoras numa Tarde de Outono’, a new album in collaboration with the pianist João Paulo Esteves da Silva, and has been celebrating her 25th career anniversary on stage, on a tour that already includes more than 40 dates throughout Europe.