Peltomaa Fraanje Perkola

Peltomaa Fraanje Perkola
Peltomaa/Fraanje/Perkola, photo by Vilja Tamminen


a chant from Hildegard von Bingen and improvisation
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips.
  • country:Finland
  • style(s):Jazz, Early Music
  • label:Outhere Music / Fuga Libera
  • type:Trio
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:vocal, electronic, string, jazz combo, piano, harp
  • artist posted by:Peltomaa, Aino

Line up

  • Aino Peltomaa (voice, medieval harp)
  • Harmen Fraanje (piano)
  • Mikko Perkola (viola da gamba, electronics)


The Guardian 15/1/2021

"ÆR (Fuga Libera | Outhere Music is an album by Peltomaa Fraanje Perkola, an unorthodox Dutch/Finnish trio for voice, piano and viola da gamba, which takes medieval hymns and transforms them into quizzical, drone-based experimental miniatures.”

An international trio of versatile musicians with a background in jazz and early music creates a unique dreamlike journey, painting soundscapes and colors with their imaginative compositions.

Taking inspiration from medieval melodies from the 12th century, the group combines the sounds of a human voice, piano, amplified viola da gamba with effects and medieval harp. In their program “AER”, the group dives into the chants of Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179), Pérotin (13th century), gregorian melodies and 13th century pilgrimidge songs, transforming the ancient melodies into beautiful and relaxing cinematic soundscapes. Their own compositions speak the same modal language as the medieval melodies, and connect the centuries into each other.

AINO PELTOMAA is a Finnish singer and musician, performing widely with medieval, renaissance, contemporary music and free improvisation. Peltomaa collaborates actively with musicians and artists from different genres and performs regularly in Finland and abroad. Her innovative projects combine elements from early music, folk music and jazz, visual arts, dance and multimedia. Peltomaa performs with choirs and ensembles and has collaborated with internationally renowned conductors and artists. Her most recent album ´k:amos in collaboration with Nathan Wouters was published by Aspen edities, Belgium. Peltomaa´s work has been supported by various Finnish cultural foundations. (Taike, MES, SKR)

HARMEN FRAANJE is a Dutch pianist, composer living in Amsterdam. According to the internationally renowned website AllAboutJazz “Harmen Fraanje is emerging as one of the most impressive young European pianists of the past decade.”

Fraanje leads and co-leads several groups and collaborates regularly with Reijseger Fraanje Sylla, Mats Eilertsen Trio, Trio Fraanje/Soniano/Gouband, Michael Moore and also performs solo concerts. Recordings of the projects he’s involved in have been released by eminent labels such as ECM, Winter & Winter, Hubro Music. Fraanje performed with artists as Ambrose Akinmusire, Arve Henriksen, Kenny Wheeler, Thomas Morgan, Werner Herzog, Mark Turner, Trygve Seim. Fraanje teaches at the Amsterdam Conservatory.

MIKKO PERKOLA is a viola da gamba-player, composer and singer, performing regularly with e.g. Gramophone-awarded group Phantasm, Concerto Palatino and Helsinki Baroque Orchestra. He has performed and recorded with Norwegian Baroque Orchestra, Island´s chamber orchestra, Battalia and Ensemble Severin, Topi Lehtipuu, Hans-Ola Ericsson and Anna Lindail, and recorded gamba sonatas with Aapo Häkkinen, for the renowned label Naxos.

Perkola has premiered works from various contemporary composers (Lucio Garau, Giovanni Mancusol, Eero Hämeenniemi) and is wide range in music making includes collaborations with artists from different genres, from early music to multimedia and solo performances of contemporary music with viola da gamba using effects.