Kronos Quartet


Kronos Quartet by Jay Blakesberg
Kronos Quartet by Lenny Gonzalez


2018 marks forty-five years of Kronos Quartet’s extraordinarily innovative career. Founded by violinist David Harrington in 1983, the quartet has pursued a singular artistic vision, combining a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually reimagine the string quartet experience. They have performed thousands of concerts worldwide, released over 60 recordings, collaborated with many of the world’s most accomplished composers and performers, and commissioned over 950 works from composers around the world.

Kronos has received over 40 awards, including both the Polar Music and Avery Fisher Prize, two of the most prestigious awards given to musicians. Now for their groundbreaking, inclusive approach to the music of this planet and their contribution to immeasurably widening the horizons of the classical string quartet repertoire, WOMEX is proud to add this year’s Artist Award to their impressive list of achievements.

David Harrington - violin
John Sherba - violin
Hank Dutt - viola
Sunny Yang - cello