Sumrrá by Iván Barreiro
Sumrrá by Iván Barreiro


Since 2000, Galicia’s foremost jazz trio has been exploring the communicative possibilities of piano, bass and drums through intuitive improvisation applied with generous amounts of technique, lyricism, swing and humour.

Manuel Gutiérrez is one of Spain’s leading pianists with appearances on dozens of recordings, compositions for theatre and film and concert performances around the world. Bassist Xacobe Martinez studied at the conservatories of Santiago and Vigo and also plays with his quintet, rock band Martelo and jazz-funk combo Chonzo. Drummer Lar Legido is head teacher of the Estudio-Escola de Música in Santiago de Compostela, studied jazz at Berklee and sound analysis, ear physiology, etymology, 20th century art and science and improvisation theory at CEDI in Madrid.

All three work across the genres and are in-demand accompanists, but Summra remains their enduring musical meeting-point.

Manuel Gutierrez - piano
LAR Legido - drums
Xacobe Martínez Antelo - double bass