The Naghash Ensemble of Armenia

The Naghash Ensemble of Armenia
  • country:Armenia
  • region:Caucasus
  • style(s):Armenian, Contemporary
  • label:Available Forms Music
  • type:Small Ensemble
  • artist posted by:The Naghash Ensemble

Line up

  • Aram Nikoghosyan (oud)
  • Arpine Ter-Petrosyan (alto)
  • Emmanuel Hovhannisyan  (duduk)
  • Hasmik Baghdasaryan (soprano)
  • John Hodian (piano, composer)
  • Tatevik Movsesyan (soprano)
  • Tigran Hovhannisyan (dhol, dumbek)


The Naghash Ensemble combines the earthy spirituality of Armenian folk song, new classical music, contemporary post-minimalism and the energy of rock and jazz. Three brilliant female vocalists and some of Armenia’s finest instrumentalists on duduk, oud, dhol and piano play new music based on sacred texts by the medieval Armenian mystic poet and priest, Mkrtich Naghash.

Written by Armenian-American composer John Hodian, The Naghash Ensemble’s “Songs of Exile” is a profound meditation on man's relationship to God from the perspective of a monk forced to live in exile for many years. Part folk music, part classical and profoundly moving.

“East meets West and antiquity meets modernity in this collection of ruminations, lamentations and incantations. Highly intriguing yet accessible.” — NPR

"Composer John Hodian brings the poems of the 15th century Armenian priest M’krtich Naghash to life. The songs are unmistakably Armenian, but out of this world." — Armenisch-Deutsche Korrespondenz