Tsuumi Sound System

Tsuumi Sound System
tsuumi sound system live
tsuumi sound system live
tsuumi sound system live


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Finland
  • region:Scandinavia
  • style(s):Folk, Scandinavian
  • label:not signed
  • type:Band
  • instrumentation:instrumental
  • artist posted by:Tsuumi Sound System Ltd

Line up

  • Joakim Berghäll (Saxophones, percussion)
  • Tero Hyväluoma (Fiddle)
  • Hannu Kella (Accordion)
  • Jani Kivelä (Guitar)
  • Jussi Nikula (Drums, percussion)
  • Pilvi Järvelä (Piano, harmonium)
  • Tarmo Anttila (Double bass)


Tsuumi Sound System is one of Finland’s the most notable world music groups of the 21st Century. Rooted in Nordic folk traditions, they’ve toured extensively in 20 different countries around the globe, recorded three widely praised albums and a live session on BBC 3, and worked together with groups like Väsen and Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie.

Their three CD’s have received a combined 14/15 stars from Songlines. ”Gorgeous textures, stealthy invention and sheer beauty”, Fiona Talkington wrote of their last album, Floating Letters (2013).

In 2016, crowds from Shetland Folk Festival to Folkest in Spilimbergo have once gain witnessed their live energy quoted ”volcanic” and ”outrageous”. Michael Shapiro of Huffinton Post saw the band live at Womex in Thessaloniki, Greece:

”I cannot imagine Tsuumi Sound System getting any tighter or more exciting. The energy is all there, plus an excellent combination of Finnish fiddle music with a rock steady rhythm section.”

Tsuumi Sound System's fourth album is to be released in 2018.


Tsuumi Sound System:
Floating Letters (2013)
Growing Up (2009)
Hotas (2007)

Rajaton tapaus (Original sound track)
Avoin kenttä 2002
Risteys 2000