Steve Skaith Band

Steve Skaith Band
Steve Skaith


Taken from the album "Latin Quarter Revisited"
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:United Kingdom
  • style(s):Fusion, Songwriter
  • label:Westpark Music
  • type:Band, Composer/Songwriter
  • gender:male
  • artist posted by:Westpark Music

Line up

  • Cathrine Burke (mandolin, whistles, clarinet, vocals)
  • Ricardo Serrano (drums, percussion)
  • Siobhan Culhane (accordion, whistles)
  • Steve Skaith (vocals, guitar)


Steve Skaith was the singer and co-writer of the band Latin Quarter, best known in the UK for the 80s hit single -'Radio Africa' and their collaboration with the Zimbabwean group, the Bhundu Boys in the 90's. They had big hits in continental Europe with "New Millioniares", "America For Beginners", "No Rope as long as Time" and others. - In 1999 after six albums, the band finally split up and Steve Skaith went to live in Mexico where he met and formed the Steve Skaith Band with Mexican musicians. The following three album releases mix British folk Rock with Latin and even African sounds and rhythms; they played regularly in Mexico as well as touring England and Germany.

Since returning to the UK in 2007, Steve Skaith has been playing with British musicians and has completed a forth album, entitled "Latin Quarter Revisided".

More details:

Latin Quarter was formed in August 1983, initially consisting of Mike Jones (lyrics), Steve Skaith (vocals, guitar) and Richard Wright (guitar). Mike Jones and Steve Skaith were both members of Big Flame, a political organisation concerned with social justice, and actually started writing and home-recording some two years prior to the formation of the band. "Modern Times" - their critically acclaimed debut album - was released in September 1985. It went Top Twenty in a lot of countries. Songs like "Modern Times", "America For Beginners", "No Rope As Long As Times" and the "New Millionaires" have all become enduring songs but 1986's "Radio Africa" has taken on timeless classic status. The group's second album "Mick And Caroline" was released in 1987, the third album "Swimming Against The Stream" in 1989. 1993 saw the release of the Latin Quarter album "'Long Pig".

After that, Latin Quarter/Steve Skaith effectively disappeared from the music scene until the release of the appropriately named single "Surprised" in 1997. The first song from their new album "'Bringing Rosa Home", it was quickly followed by two other singles -- "Angel" and "Branded" -- taken from the same source. These were probably the most commercial records Latin Quarter had released since "'Radio Africa".

After a six-year absence, Steve Skaith returned in 2005 with a new band and a new album "'Mexile" followed by "Empires and Us" (2006) and "Imaginary Friend" (2007). Steve Skaith had had teamed up with musicians in Mexico to produce albums brimming with memorable rhythms and intelligent lyrics. Although recorded in Mexico, the music retained an essentially British feel in much the same manner as the late Kirsty MacColl's Brazilian recorded "Tropical Brainstorm".

In 2007 Steve Skaith returned to the UK; he reformed his band and recorded his actual album "Latin Quarter Revisited" in 2009.