Tritha Electric

Tritha Electric
Tritha Electric on stage (tritha and Mathias)
Tritha sings in Paris


Modern adaptation of a Bengali song by Nazrul Islam
  • 1 Rangamati
  • 2 Ganapati
  • 3 Macher Baajar (Fish Market)
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks


The protest song about corruption in India, comparing the Parliament to a fish market
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips
  • country:India
  • region:Indian Ocean
  • style(s):Bengal, Psychedelic
  • label:Amarrass Records
  • type:Band, Trio, Quartet
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:vocal, a cappella, rock band, unplugged, guitar
  • artist submitted by:Tritha Electric / PaGLi Records

Line up

  • Jeff Tekeyan (bass)
  • Mathias Durand (guitar)
  • Paul Schneiter  (drums)
  • Tritha Sinha (vocals, guitar )


Tritha Electric inhabits the space where psychedelic punk-rock meets Indian classical and folk music to sing about women's empowerment against social oppression; the environment and political corruption and other issues that Tritha Sinha feels should be given greater exposure in the media. Trained as a classical Indian singer from the age of five but as a young woman becoming politically engaged, Tritha felt she needed to make music that tackled contemporary issues head on. Tritha Electric was formed in 2010 with a trio of French musicians and she's been gaining attention ever since, both for her music and its subject matter, with performances in India, France, Malaysia, Italy, Germany and Madagascar and articles about her social activism in the pages of Tehelka, an Indian political magazine and the Hindustan Times, the largest nationally read newspaper in India. She was also featured on Tracks on ARTE and BBC news.