Anian album cover
  • country:United Kingdom
  • region:Wales
  • style(s):Folk
  • label:Real World Records
  • type:Band
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:instrumental, vocal, electronic, percussion, string, singer songwriter, rock band, pop group, unplugged, piano, guitar
  • artist posted by:Real World Records / WOMAD

Line up

  • Ali Byworth (drums, percussion)
  • Dan Swain (bass guitar & double bass)
  • Esyllt Glyn Jones (harp, vocals)
  • Lisa Jên  (piano / vocals)
  • Martin Hoyland  (guitars & hammer dulcimer)


9Bach's music is atmospheric, evocative and emotional hybrid of the Welsh folk tradition and contemporary influences and working practices. Building on a deepened, almost ambient sound picture, the songs take you into the landscape and the emotions that it evokes. Music is a living thing, not a museum piece and the way that 9Bach compose and perform reflect this.

9Bach was formed by Lisa Jen and Martin Hoyland in 2005.

2015 Winners of BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards - Best Album 'Tincian'