Javier Negrín

Javier Negrín
Javier Negrín
Javier Negrín


From his CD featuring the Scriabin Travel Preludes
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Spain
  • region:Madrid
  • style(s):Romantic Period, Classical Music
  • label:Odradek Records
  • type:Solo
  • gender:male
  • instrumentation:piano
  • artist posted by:Odradek Records

Line up

  • Javier Negín (piano)


“A masterful performance, that gave me pleasure in every bar, I would have loved to have a recording of it, I wouldn’t change a single note”
Howard Shelley on Javier’s interpretation of Ravel Miroirs

Javier Negrín made his solo debut at the Wigmore Hall in London in 2004 performing works by Ravel and Jindrich Feld, and since then has enjoyed a very distinguished career, performing as a soloist and chamber musician in important venues in Europe, South America and the Far East.

Since a very early age he has been involved in playing the big romantic repertoire for piano and orchestra, including performances of concertos by Brahms, Grieg, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff and Scriabin, working with conductors such as Lawrence Leighton Smith, Adrian Leaper, José Luis Novo, Alejandro Posada, Neil Thomson, Claus Efland, Yaron Traub, John Neschling and Roberto Montenegro.

A major prizewinner at the Royal College of Music, where he also held a Junior Fellowship, Javier has been the recipient of many awards in his career, including the prizes for the best interpretations on Schumann, Chopin, Brahms, Ravel and virtuoso studies. His main influences were the late Yonty Solomon, himself a pupil of Myra Hess, Armando Alfonso, son of the famous Spanish pianist Javier Alfonso, and most recently Howard Shelley and Joaquín Achúcarro.

Javier has been hailed by the critics as a very intuitive interpreter who also possesses very strong intellectual prowess. He is passionate about literature and arts and his interests in music range from the baroque to the 21st century, with a special affinity for the music of Bach and Chopin. He serves in the faculty of Centro Superior Katarina Gurska in Madrid, where he lives at present.

Javier is very honored to be part of the Odradek project, and has also recorded a CD for clarinet and piano with music by Lutoslawski, Nielsen, Poulenc and Debussy (Linn Records, 2006) and made a record for the Spanish National Radio with works by Schumann, Scriabin, Granados and García Abril.

Javier was born in the Canary Islands, (Spain) in 1977.


"Scriabin - The Travel Préludes" - Javier Negrín