Pina Napolitano

Pina Napolitano
Pina Napolitano
Pina Napolitano


From her monographic CD of Schoenberg's piano works
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks.
  • country:Italy
  • region:Napoli
  • style(s):20th Century, Contemporary
  • label:Odradek Records
  • type:Solo
  • gender:female
  • instrumentation:piano
  • artist posted by:Odradek Records

Line up

  • Pina Napolitano (piano)


Pina Napolitano began studying the piano at the age of four under the tutelage of Guisi Ambrifi. She went on to earn two masters in piano performance and in 20th century piano music with Bruno Mezzena at the Music Academy of Pescara. She has attended masterclasses in piano with Tibor Egly, Bruno Canino, and Alexander Lonquich, and in musical analysis with Giacomo Manzoni and Hugh Collins Rice (Oxford University). Since 2000 she has participated in masterclasses at the Ticino Musica Festival, Switzerland, during which she has given many solo concerts and recently served as teacher.

Pina Napolitano performs in solo concerts in Italy and abroad (Holywell Music Room, Oxford, Skrjabin Museum Hall, Cvetaeva Museum Hall, and the Bogoljubova Library Hall in Moscow, the Great Hall of the Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana in Lugano, the Centro Culturale Elisarion, Minusio, Switzerland, Ignatiushuis in Amsterdam). With the Philharmonic Orchestra of Pescara she performed Liszt's 2nd Piano Concerto and Bartok's 3rd. With an ensemble of the same orchestra she performed in Ivan Fedele's "La chute de la maison Usher", directed by Marco Angius. Her repertoire spans from Bach to contemporary, with particular attention to 20th century music.

Pina's CD featuring the complete works of Arnold Schoenberg published with Odradek Records is being received with great enthusiasm by listeners and critics, Guy Rickards singling it out as "outstanding", citing the "tensile strength to her playing that is distinctly hers", and underlining: "her knowledge of the music is manifest in every bar, and she conveys its real quality as music - rather than as an object of academic study - with nice judgment and a fine, delicate technique" (International Piano Magazine). Norman Lebrecht (who chose the disc as his CD of the week) praised her "light fingers and innate wit, bringing out a welter of contemporary parallels... amid a panoply of delicate beauty." Works from the disc have been featured on Radio France Classique and Rai Radio 3 Suite. This year will have heard her perform over ten concerts across Europe and Russia featuring the composer's rarely programmed works for piano.

Alongside her career as a pianist she studied literature: after having finished with top marks and lauds both her undergraduate degrees in Classics and and Oriental European Culture and Languages at the University of Naples "L'Orientale", she completed her research Ph.D. in Foreign Languages and Literature from the Second University of Rome with a thesis on the poetry of Osip Mandel'stam, which won the 2011 Italian Slavists' Association prize. She published an article on the ostakovi&269; cycle, Op. 143, "Six poems of Marina Cvetaeva" in which she explored the connections between the poetic and musical text.

Pina is involved in developing artistic and didactical relations between Moscow, where she is regularly invited to hold masterclasses and take part in juries of international competitions, and Italy, where she teaches in upper level courses at the Alban Berg Academy (Pescara).


"Schoenberg: Complete Piano Works" - Pina Napolitano