Snow Owl

Line up

  • Alejandra MarĂ­a (Electric Violin)
  • Bertl Mayer (Harmonica)
  • Jeremy Powell (Saxophones)
  • Juan Garcia-Herreros (Electric Contrabass Guitar)
  • Mamadou Diabate (Balafon & Percussion)
  • Marcio Tubino (Saxophone, Flute)
  • Nikola Stanosevic (Keyboard / Piano)
  • Roberto Quintero (Percussion)
  • Stoyan Yankoulov (Drums & Tupan)
  • country:
  • style(s):
    • Jazz
    • Latin
  • label:
    Inner Circle Music
  • type:
  • instrumentation:
  • artist submitted by:

Juan Garcia-Herreros, also known by his stage name "Snow Owl", is a world-renowned and award winning Electric Bassist.

Each and every established Jazz artist must at one point of his career record a "Standards" Album. It is an homage to the tradition and a proof of his improvisational accomplishments. For his third CD release entitled "Normas" ( Standards in spanish ) Snow Owl has accepted that challenge. The ensemble has taken the titles of famous Jazz Standard compositions , and translated them into their interpretation of what the Standards of today in Jazz should be. For example a simple John Coltrane Blues entitled Mr.P.C. is now a complex and multi-rhythmical song in a 5/4 meter Clave with the title Senor C.P.

The ensemble requires the hottest and biggest names in Latin Jazz today mixed up with the tradition of this amazing art form. We have Grammy winning and nominated musicians performing ORIGINAL compositions. Each title is a song, a story and a journey. Improvising over a standard is old fashioned, but setting a new model for which the tradition can grow on is a whole other monster. "Normas" is not just an album of a Bass soloist showing off some chops on his instrument. It is the documented sounds of a musician's pilgrimage through our planet , interpreting it's mysteries with sound.

African Drums, Burning Latin Montuno's , Blazing melodies , screaming guitars and Balkan odd meters all in one session Performing, working, admiring and developing each other's spiritual traditions.

a new standard - NORMAS



On Tour

  • Snow Owl

    area:Austria, Luxembourg, Slovenia, Germany, Bulgaria, Serbai
Snow Owl


Press photo 001Press photo 002Press photo 003


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks

Normas CD Preview


(Please install the Flash-PlugIn)
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to watch the full clips

Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection